If You Liked That Marvel Movie, Read This Book!

Hello friends! I just realised that it has been 11 months on the blog and I haven’t declared this officially which is just, to say the least, preposterous, so here we go:

I’m seriously obsessed with the MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe).

I thought I was over that phase of my life a few years ago but Disney + brought back all the nostalgia and all the new films and TV shows (Black Widow! TFATWS! Loki!) reminded me of my love for this fandom!

And hence, after reading Maya’s lovely review of Loki, I was inspired to put together a list of book recommendations based on some of my favourite Marvel movies, finally a recommendation post breaking the monotony of solely book reviews and wrap-ups this year, and one that won the popular vote as to what posts y’all wanted to see!

Without further ado, let the gushing commence. (click on the book titles which will lead you to their respective Goodreads pages.)

If you liked: THOR: RAGNAROK…

I spent half my time watching Thor: Ragnarok with my eyes wide open, and jaw ajar, and the other hopelessly cackling like a maniac.

Read: PERCY JACKSON & THE OLYMPIANS

Honestly, what is there to say?

We preach Percy Jackson supremacy in this household and you better know it.

The Percy Jackson and The Olympians series has and will always be a comfort series for me no matter how old I get. Rick Riordan shapes flawed, at times “seaweed-brained” heroes that we just can’t help but devote ourselves to and root for all the way. They exhibit growth and yet still hold on to their core no matter how many revelations and monsters they’re changed by along the way. The series is one based on Greek mythology, which perfectly parallels to the Norse mythology of Thor: Ragnarok.

Artwork by Viktoria Ridzel

Honestly, the more I think about it, the more Percy Jackson is perfect for Ragnarok. Both are simply hilarious, the banter and comedic relief during scenes of tension and seriousness are just priceless. Both follow a little band of heroes, and at their core are explorations of identity and power.

All that talk aside, Percy Jackson is my entire childhood, and still owns all my soul (or at least all that’s left after The Poppy War). It’s a brilliant, hilarious and heartfelt series that will continue to delight and capture the hearts of many more, it’s one of those books I know are worth all the hype and truly have shaped the bookish world!

If you need further convincing, Becky @ Simply It’s Blue wrote lovely reviews that warmed my heart for every book in the Percy Jackson series, you can check them out here!

If you liked: CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE WINTER SOLDIER…

Sigh, I have a weakness for small, sharp pointy *things* thrown in the air purposefully…

Read: THESE VIOLENT DELIGHTS

Did I just pair my favourite MCU film to one of my favourite YA novels, that in the slightest don’t even seem related?

Yes, but also hear me out.

At first glance, what does a modern super-spy, fancy-hero, large scale drama movie have in common with a 1920s retelling of Romeo and Juliet? The dichotomy is vast, but once I thought hard about it, the similarities were glaring.

Both The Winter Soldier and These Violent Delights are about confronting the past. They both relive past friendships and love, now twisted into something darker in the present, which suddenly comes back to haunt our characters. They’ve to rely on their morals, their conscience to make the best decisions despite all the conflicting elements, and the internal conflict in both movie and book was poignantly fleshed out.

Artwork by polarts

Furthermore, both of them are about questioning the status quo, if I can put it like that. These Violent Delights exhibits a commentary on Western colonialism, one that is full of ire, as opposed to the image of dazzling, advanced and benevolent foreigners they were painted to be back in the past. Similarly, The Winter Soldier sows doubt as to who the “good guys” really are, and reveals a world of subterfuge, and I’ll leave you to be aghast by the movie or smile knowingly if you know.

Lastly, how can I not mention the fact that both The Winter Soldier and These Violent Delights have characters with daggers/knives/sharp pointy things? The Winter Soldier has intense hand to hand combat, while These Violent Delights kills it with all the action.

Once again if you’re not convinced, my I refer you to my own review (ft. gushing) of These Violent Delights. Ahaana, Jan, Sam and Sanah also wrote thoughtful discussions and reviews of it!

If you liked: BLACK WIDOW…

I watched Black Widow recently and wow I am still reeling from the ending.

Read: THE ALICE NETWORK

Badass ladies? Spies? Revenge? Past secrets?

Both Black Widow and The Alice Network, revolving around a network of female spies during WW1 alternating with a mission of truth and revenge in the future, have all of the above.

I know of many whom have yet to dip their toes into the historical fiction genre because of the notion that all war novels are sentiment and are full of hope and endurance… I love those kind of novels with all my heart, though yes I admit they may be cliche at times. But if you’re looking for a different type of historical fiction, one that still maintains the influence of a historical setting, but also is an action-packed rampage which is more super spy, revelations and revenge rather than dwelling on emotions, The Alice Network is for you.

Apart from the above mentioned, Black Widow for me was a story of identity, confrontation and empowerment. And The Alice Network also managed to do this through a juxtaposition of the lives of two women whose paths are interwoven as each goes on their own journey. Complex characters were illuminated in both book and movie, their growth, their depth explored, just excellent characterisation of our main characters.

Check out my review of The Alice Network if you’re curious!

If you liked: BLACK PANTHER…

Guys this movie is the epitome of “cool” and so much more, cannot recommend it enough!!

Read: SLAY

Slay is not just a book y’all, it’s an experience.

Slay follows Kiera, a high school student who developed the game Slay, a space for Black gamers, whom like herself have suffered under the racism widespread in the gaming world, and Slay becomes a community for Black gamers to take pride in who they are. All is well until because of a conflict, a gamer gets killed and the news goes viral, and Kiera has to grapple with keeping her identity a secret as well as dealing with how Slay is labelled as a “racist” game.

Slay was such an eye-opening experience for me. It is a celebration of Black culture, and I’m heartened to hear that Slay resonated with many Black readers, and will be a place of solace for many more.

It was especially explored through Kiera, our main character. She’s such a strong character, loving, passionate and fiesty, not afraid to bite back if anyone crosses her. her relationships with her friends and family, especially the dynamics between her and her sister were all so wonderfully endearing.

Battle cards taken from slaythebook.com

Throughout Slay, we accompany on her journey of identity, getting meaningful insight into her thoughts on the issues Black people are facing, even more significant seeing how she tries to be unapologetic though the world is against her because of her race, and these stirred up so much anger, but admiration as well in me.

Apart from being such a powerful one in its message, Slay radiated power in the world-building of this book, that of the virtual reality the game Slay is set in. If you liked Warcross, you will definitely love the world of Slay. It was so vividly described that I was properly immersed and invested in all the fighting scenes.

A beautiful, power book, Slay gave me so much Black panther vibes whether it be the messages, the characters, the technology world, I definitely recommend it!

I am not an #ownvoices reader and hence please consider checking out #ownvoices reviews as well. I came across C.B.’s review on Goodreads and truly appreciated the sharing.

If you liked: THE AVENGERS…

This scene gets me every time.

Read: SIX OF CROWS

Out of every 10 people, 9.5 love Six of Crows, rounded up to the nearest integer, that is 10. So virtually, everyone loves the Six of Crows duology.

Okay I’m definitely being a bit hyperbolic, but it is no secret that Six of Crows is one of the most well-received and well-loved YA book series in the community. It’s pure brilliance and soul and of course naturally, I loved it too! (Fun fact: I reread Crooked Kingdom the day after I finished it because. ah. the. feels.)

It’s a mastermind heist story anchored by our 6 favourite diverse outcasts, each with such strong personal voices as well as incredible dynamics with the whole crew. It will keep your heart pounding with the fast-paced, ingenius plot… I loved every second of it!

And The Avengers feels rather reminiscent of it to me, another story of a band of heroes (well SOC is even better we have morally grey folks!!) who have to work together to save the world. I know the difference between the two is vast, but The Avengers has always been such a comfort movie for me because of all the character dynamics, the punchlines and just the overwhelming excitement of an epic fight against evil.

https://aboltoutofthebook.files.wordpress.com/2021/05/lets-talk-a-bolt-out-of-the-book.png?w=760

Do you agree with my picks? Have you read any of the books here? What books give you superhero vibes? If you’re a fellow Marvel fan, what’s your favourite MCU movie?

93 thoughts on “If You Liked That Marvel Movie, Read This Book!

  1. You will not believe the intensity of my clicking when I saw the title of this post!!!! ❀ ❀ ❀ (Am I going a bit overboard with the exclamation marks? probably…but I AM SO HAPPY TO FIND A FELLOW MARVEL FAN!!!!!) AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHH
    I loved your recs, and I definitely have a few to add to my tbr asap, but the thing I'm really really commenting for iS THAT AVENGERS GIF (GOD IT FREAKING GETS ME EVERY TIME TOO SO MANY GOOSEBUMPS AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH)
    Sadly, I haven't been able t watch the newest shows from Disney+, but my parents are considering getting a subscription, so *fingers crossed* AND I REALLY WANT TO WATCH BLACK WIDOW, so that hint to a surprising ending seems even more ominous to me O_o
    Also, can I just say, those statistics about 9.5 people out of 10 cracked me up so hard, because I read the first line of that and said to myself, 'that's really not how it works, but I completely agree', and then I read your next line πŸ˜€
    I just can't express the happiness that this post is making me feel right now, so just Cherelle, lots of love to you!!!!! ❀ ❀ ❀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Trisha, omg that means so much to me! High five fellow Marvel fan! No I can feel your enthusiasm across the Internet haha, so here’s some in return too: !!!!!!!! And indeed, when I think of Avengers, that GIF always comes to mind… wishing you all the best on getting a Disney + subscription… ohh the ending of Black Widow is a huge game-changer and has me excited for more of Marvel’s future shows, PLEASE YOU NEED TO WATCH IT. πŸ₯Ί

      Haha I’m glad that you found my dramatising hilarious, but hey it’s accurate everyone loves Six of Crows! Aww thank you, your comment is making me smile so much too!! Take care! πŸ’•

      Like

  2. OMG, this was a great post! I love if you liked… then read… BUT I’m kind of just getting into the world of YA from MG, so I don’t know any of the books! Plus, I don’t read any of the movies/shows recommended… xD
    Buuut I’ve watched Marvel, and love it! This post was so helpful!
    (Also SoC is the beeest, totally like Avengers but better)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. DID YOU SERIOUSLY ASK ME TO PICK A FAVORITE MARVEL MOVIE?! ME?! ME! ARE YOU KIDDIN’ ME?!
    Wow. that was a lot of ‘!?’ but not enough to prove my enthusiasm! I clicked as soon as I read ‘marvel’ which might sound cliche but its the truth.

    I loved allll your picks and added them to my tbr! AND SAINTS! PJO IS SUCH A PERFECT PICK FOR RAGNAROK! HOW WERE YOU ABLE TO PICK THE PERFECT MATCH!?

    MCU is ✨Perfection✨ and FaTWS was amazing!! Do I even need to say about ‘Loki’? AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I haven’t watched Black Widow yet but *hopefully* I can soon!

    Amazing post Cherelle! I loved reading it (ofc I would! It’s related to marvel!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL I’M SORRY SO WHAT ARE SOME OF YOUR FAVOURITES (PLURAL!!)? Aww thank you so much, that’s heartening to hear that you found new books, and haha PJO and Ragnarok was the first that I thought of and got ridiculously excited over, because indeed they’re perfect!! Omg FATWS was great and Loki’s ending left me brain broken?? I hope you enjoy Black Widow too! Thank you for the enthusiastic comment, Aashi!! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I will NEVER get over the fact that Inej = Natasha. I mean the parallels? Bold, sassy, brave awesome female characters? CHECK. This post was SO fun to read and yes ofc Percy is just Loki – snarky, hot, the whole deal. Loved the creative idea and I need to go and fangirl over Black Widow & SoC now that you mentioned it so bye!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so happy to know you also love Marvel! Black Panther was a fantastic movie, I can’t find any faults about it. Slay is on my TBR, thanks for reminding me about it! I’ll try to pick it up soon. And of course, Six of Crows is amazing, I love that you paired it with the first Avengers movie. Amazing post, Cherelle!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a FUN idea for a post! I love the MCU so so much! Intrigued by your Captain America / These Violent Delights pairing, it’s on my TBR and I can’t wait to get around to reading it! ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Cherelle. this post is EVERYTHING. like, all your recommendations are so spot on, even the books i haven’t read yet seem to fit the vibes of the movie so well! i haven’t watched the new black widow yet but The Alice Network was a really cool read with some very inspirational women, so that really sounds like Natasha. & heck yes, Percy Jackson is a top tier series just like Thor: Ragnarok is a top tier movie, so that’s very fitting! amazing post πŸ’ž

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you SO much for your kind words Aarushi! Mm definitely the ladies in The Alice Network were truly empowering, the Black Widow movie truly enhances that aspect of Natasha, I hope you enjoy it! Hehe, glad you agree with the Percy Jackson x Ragnarok pairing, those two are indeed god tier! Thank you so much! πŸ˜­πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  8. this post had me giddy with happiness!! i absolutely ADORE the MCU and the recommendations you gave could not have been more spot on! you should definitely do more of these, i’m OBSESSED. i need a wandavision book rec for sure 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Love your pics!!! I really need to watch Black Widow and well, I’m pretty sure I’ll love it and I’ll be sure to check out the Alice network too after that!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love marvel movies too my fave is black panther and I liked the Loki show tooπŸ˜† gosh yes the avengers is basically six of crows, the ‘team who hates each other at first but band up to save the world’ YES. thanks for including my review!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. If someone says the perfect book recommendation doesn’t exists, I’ll show them this post 😍

    Percy Jackson is perfect for Ragnarok in terms of humor, action, and just the vibrant-ness of the storytelling. I also love how SoC matches the avengers! I haven’t read the rest but they matched really well with the movies!!

    (ca:tws is my favorite movie for that fight scene alone lol!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg Tasya, you’re too kind! πŸ₯Ί I’m so happy to hear how you agree with the matching, ahh the Percy Jackson and Ragnarok pairing was my favourite for the very reasons you mentioned! Ahh truly that Winter Soldier fight scene was EVERYTHING, I’m still obsessed over the knife toss… ❀

      Like

  12. Omg the way you paired these books and movies is amazing! Your explanations make so much sense 🀩 Black Widow was so good and Black Panther is on my to-watch list!! I’m sorry, if the Crows did that Avenger-circle-camera thingy…akahsdjdj Also β€” have you seen WandaVision? πŸ‘€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Eleanor! 😭😭 Ah what did you think of the Black Widow end credits scene? 🀩 Black Panther is a must watch okay!! Oh man please don’t put that idea in my head, I’m pining for it now πŸ₯Ί… no I haven’t seen WandaVision yet, have you? How was it? ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Gosh the end credits scene was so sad…but at least we’ll be getting more Yelena content (I saw that when she whistled, there was supposed to be a whistle back but they took it out *sobs*). Ahh WandaVision is amazing, highly recommend! So many genres blend together and the script is so smart!

        Liked by 1 person

  13. thank you so much for linking my review cherelle, this is such a fantastic idea for a post!! i adore marvel movies, and think the way you drew comparisons between them and the books you chose was so clever and well done and made for such an interesting read; an absolutely amazing post!

    i LOVE the alice network!! until now, i haven’t heard anyone really talk about it, but it’s one of my favorite historical fictions ever, and i think the way you connected it with black widow was so wonderful!! you really reminded me of my love for that story ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  14. omg cherelle!! this post just stole my heart πŸ₯ΊπŸ’˜
    marvel helped me survive 2020 lol, and im so happy you’re a fan too! these violent delights and the rose network have been on my tbr since forever, but I’ll definitely be picking them up after this. And ahh THAT SCENE. i honestly stop breathing whenever I watch it haha. I love how you related the books with the movies, especially the avengers and black widow. I’m glad you enjoyed the black widow, i want to but it isn’t released here yet :/ black panther was epic; I’ve just watched sone scenes of the winter soldier but the fight scenes are top tier haha. Loved reading this πŸ’• i hope your august is going good 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you Janhavi! Omg yes when stuck in lockdown, it was the MCU films that were keeping me sane too! These Violent Delights and The Alice Network are both amazing historical novels with empowering female leads, I hope you love them! And yes, that group circle scene never gets old! πŸ₯Ί

      Ah Black Widow was such an insight into Natasha’s character, I hope you’ll love it too! Agreed Black Panther is one of the best MCU films, and so are the Winter Soldier fight scenes! 🀩 Thank you for the lovely comment, it made my day! Oops sorry for the late reply, so happy September to you! ❀️

      Like

  15. 1) This is such a great post! I love the idea!!
    2) I’ve been on the fence about whether or not to check out the Percy Jackson series, but with the Thor Ragnorok comparison, feel like I need read it
    3) Also, Winter Soldier is my fav 😍

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I have but have mixed feelings about it. I love Sam and Bucky but wasn’t a huge fan of the overall story 😬 I hope they get a movie soon, though!

        Liked by 1 person

  16. Ahhhh, I love your post and the idea so, so, so much, Cherelle!!!
    I’ve never really watched any of the Marvel movies πŸ˜… , but all these recommendations were so amazing, and now I really want to watch them!
    “Out of every 10 people, 9.5 love Six of Crows, rounded up to the nearest integer, that is 10. So virtually, everyone loves the Six of Crows duology.” – Oh my God! i am laughing so hard!! 🀣🀣🀣
    Amazing post!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Honestly, never a fan of the Marvel movies but a lifelong fan of Marvel and other comics as well. My favorite screen adaptations of comic books are Christopher Reeve’s Superman and the TV versions of Batman and Superman from the 50s and 60s and The Incredible Hulk series from the 70s and 80s TV movie which featured The Mighty Thor -definitely check that out if you have not seen it already!

    Like

  18. omg i’m also SO obsessed with the MCU 😭 i love every single movie/show in it sm. black widow, loki, and TFATWS are all literal perfection! i loved loki the most tho bc he’s one of my favourite characters, and having a “morally-grey character” as the mc was so interesting! i love love love thor:ragnarok, it’s the funniest, and the movie holds a special place in my heart, which is exactly the way i feel about percy jackson (yesss pjo supremacy), so that match is perfect hahaha πŸ₯°

    captain america: the winter soldier is one of my fav mcu films, and tvd is also one of my fav books, and honestly, i would never have connected them, but sfksdjfhsdkj your reasoning actually makes sense πŸ₯² thank you so much for mentioning my review πŸ₯Ί i haven’t been super active lately, but it means the world to me!!! ❀️

    i’ve also been loving historical fiction/fantasy lately and the alice network sounds perfect 😭 loved your review for it too!!! black widow was super fun, and i loved watching it, so i’m def checking out the alice network sometime soon!! black panther is SUCH an iconic movie, honestly. i’ve seen it so many times because my brother is obsessed with it, omg, it’s one of the only movies we can both agree on hahaha. i’ve heard so much about slay, so i’m def checking that out soon as well! 🀩

    the avengers is ALSO so iconic (especially that scene omg), and you’re rightttt, it goes so well with six of crows (another super iconic thing sfksjdhfj) i love this post sm!! thank you for all the recs, i can’t wait to check out the ones i haven’t read!! ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s